10 Years

This is going to be an extremely long post. Instead of writing something new, I  thought I would post the article I wrote for the last “All Teeth Zine” about Skies Bleed Black re-uniting. I started A Newfound Hate/Skies Bleed Black/Dog Days ten years ago with a group of friends. I thought about posting a ton of pics of good times, etc. but instead I decided to post some photos from concerts. Click below to read more. The photos are in no order what so ever.

Band

“I remember the phone call in early 2010. I knew Sam and Chris were hanging out and jamming together. The idea came up of Skies Bleed Black maybe playing again. Sam called me and told me the idea had been pitched. It’s not like the thought hadn’t crossed my mind in the two years or so we were broken up. I had even heard rumors of a Skies Bleed Black reunion when I went to downtown Kent for Halloween in 2009. It was a lot for me to think about.

Times change. People change. Things change. Reality changes. Everything changes. Did that mean that “what was” could never be again? Did that mean that “what was” could never be good again? Would it turn out even worse? A giant disaster? A complete flop? The more important question I asked myself was “does any of it matter?” Does it matter if anyone else but me cares anymore? Does it matter if the music will be different? None of it mattered. In my mind I had to do it. I might have posed questions or even questioned doing it but really the decision was made before anyone had to ask me.

The thing about being in a band is that it’s not just a hobby; even if you want it to be. It turns into something so much bigger. It turns into a lifestyle. How far you take it depends on the person. At times I imagine I have been totally consumed and it has probably damaged my life in more ways than one. I can remember when Skies Bleed Black broke up my grades in college went from a C+ average to straight A’s. Either life got easier or I was less consumed. In the end it was probably a little bit of both but the point remains. I have been waiting for this to happen for a long time even if I didn’t realize it. I had an album worth of lyrics written because I just couldn’t stop writing. I longed for out of town shows, traveling, getting wild, late night diners and sleeping on sidewalks at Wal-Mart. There are some voids that never get filled. I hate to compare it to someone’s high school glory days as a football star but that’s really the only thing I can think to compare it to right now. We weren’t superstars by any means but I can imagine the feeling one gets when reminiscing about scoring the winning touchdown in a big game or traveling with their team to an away game is the same feeling I get thinking about unloading the van, skating in parking lots and traveling the country with my friends. Reminiscing made me feel like a middle aged man longing for his high school locker room but I couldn’t help but miss being part of something like Skies Bleed Black.

I knew things would be different. There was no going back to long tours, packed shows or even a consistent practice schedule. In life there’s never any going back. Just moving forward. It might be the same people or  the same thing you move forward to but you can’t go back to what it exactly was. I don’t believe that never going back to what it was means that things can’t be better. I think if all the people who are or were a part of something want it bad enough then anything is possible. It all depends on what level of love and commitment you put into it. It seemed like a long stretch to get all of us together and playing again but when that first practice happened it didn’t seem too unrealistic.

I could taste the lead that always seemed to be around when singing. I sweated the same amount as I did before. We were in a new place, writing new songs, with new experiences but the core of what we were and what we are might always be there even if we’re not.

The two years and some odd months while Skies Bleed Black wasn’t together could be taken a lot of different ways. The questions have always been lingering in my head. What if we would have kept going? What would have happened? What would things be like now? I ask myself these questions a lot. I might still be asking them if we didn’t start jamming again. Now I can ask a new set of questions. What if we would have never started jamming again? Would I have gone postal and went on a mass killing spree? Would I have tried a thousand different bands only to realize none of them work?

We played our first show back on May 15, 2010. It was an extremely warm welcome back with old friends, new friends and complete strangers. It didn’t feel like playing the Robinhood with Starcrossed in 2003 or the Eviction Party in 2006 but it wasn’t supposed to. It really wasn’t supposed to be anything other than what it was. Five friends, playing music, sharing ideas and hopefully creating something that means something to us.”

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Band

Leave a Reply

