Detained

So I’ve gotten into writing poetry. (Really, really bad poetry.) But I figured I would post one I wrote on my cab ride to my hotel when I was released from the airport in London.

Detained
I was detained at Heathrow Airport.
For being honest about my intentions.
Searched.
Bags locked up.
Placed in a cell.
“Fancy a sandwich, mate?”
Eight hours.
Fingerprinted.
Mugshot.
Interviewed.
Five minutes from deportation.
My friend called.
He lied to them.
I get to go.

I was released from Heathrow Airport.
For lying about who I was.

Leave a Reply

