Fall

New poem. Longer one.

FALL

The air turns crisp as the leaves bend off the trees
Feels like I’m eighteen again
Driving down dark back roads after midnight
Windows down, music off
The cold creeping up my spine
Breaking the chord

Bonfires light the September sky as the crackle cuts through the words
And I’m eighteen again
Sliding in the wet grass
Speakers on, music drones
The night pushes hard on my skull
Knocking me out.

The board moves again as my feet get off the pavement
And I’m eighteen again
Riding around the parking lot
No phone, no connections
Silence breaking through to my ears
Clearing my head

School starts again as the kids get back to their work
Feels like I’m eighteen all over again
Walking across a new campus
Graduated and gone
Reality sinking in
Waking me up

My favorite time of the year
Where the heat doesn’t drain me dry
and the cold doesn’t leave me empty
Feeling eighteen again is a weird sensation

Leave a Reply

