Nature Sketchbook 001

Mostly sketches, scribbles, and rushed landscapes here are some of my favorite pages from my “nature” sketchbook.

Nature Sketchbook 001

Nature Sketchbook 001

Nature Sketchbook 001

Nature Sketchbook 001

Nature Sketchbook 001

Nature Sketchbook 001

Nature Sketchbook 001

Nature Sketchbook 001

Nature Sketchbook 001

Nature Sketchbook 001

Nature Sketchbook 001

Nature Sketchbook 001

Nature Sketchbook 001

Nature Sketchbook 001

Advertisements

After The Bear

After The Bear

I did this illustration about nine (give or take) years ago for an essay that Matt Stansberry wrote. Having always enjoyed Matt’s writing, this was the first piece he let me read that I NEEDED to make art for his writing. I still love the essay and am still proud of the art to accompany it. Glad to see it finally made it’s way onto the inter webs for everyone to read.

An article for hunters, fathers, sons, and exploring the depth of killing.
http://zoomorphic.net/2017/05/after-the-bear/

In The Watershed Book Cover

New book cover illustration and design I did for In The Watershed by Ryan Schnurr.
 
“Part cultural history, part nature writing, and part narrative, In the Watershed is a lyrical work of non-fiction in the vein of John McPhee and Ian Frazier with a timely and important warning at the core. “What is happening in Lake Erie,” Schnurr tells us, “is a disaster by nearly any measure—ecologically, economically, socially, culturally.””

In The Watershed Book Cover

The Awakening – Preview and Process

After sending the final files off for The Awakening, a short comic I made, I figured I would post a bit of the process behind making it. The Awakening is a 16 page, black and white comic about a young boy’s dreams of the dark forest that surrounds his house.

Let’s start with the cover and the small thumbnail sketch.

The Awakening - Cover Process

I scan the thumbnail sketch in and work on it digitally until I get everything how I’d like it to look.

The Awakening - Cover Process

After getting the drawing tightened up and an idea of the type placement, I’ll print out the sketch and draw it in blue pencil and ink it traditionally.

The Awakening - Cover Process

Final inks scanned, color added, and typography placed.

The Awakening - Cover Process

Next, the process of making the interior pages. I start with small thumbnails to layout the story and make sure everything works sequentially over the course of the entire issue.

The Awakening - Comic Process

Next I rough out the thumbnails to a larger size, correct dimensions, proportions, etc. Then I’ll scan in my rough sketches and work on them digitally correcting anything that looks strange or incorrect.

The Awakening - Comic Process

The Awakening - Comic Process

I also start working on values and shadows. After I figure like the compositions and values I print the picture out either black and white or blue line and move onto inking.

The Awakening - Comic Process

Final inks above. After the inking is cleaned up in photoshop I move onto adding color, or in this case black and white values, then the typography.

The Awakening - Comic Process

Here’s a preview of the final issue which will be on sale in February.

The Awakening Preview

The Awakening Preview

The Awakening Preview

The Awakening Preview

Thanks for reading!
David
www.workdavidwork.com