In The Watershed Book Cover

New book cover illustration and design I did for In The Watershed by Ryan Schnurr.
 
“Part cultural history, part nature writing, and part narrative, In the Watershed is a lyrical work of non-fiction in the vein of John McPhee and Ian Frazier with a timely and important warning at the core. “What is happening in Lake Erie,” Schnurr tells us, “is a disaster by nearly any measure—ecologically, economically, socially, culturally.””

In The Watershed Book Cover

New format for editorials?

Reading online sucks. Most of the web design you run across is poor, has stock photography, bad photography, or just bland to look at, and reading on a computer isn’t that fun. I don’t have an iPad so I can’t give an opinion on that, but the new layout ESPN is providing for its editorial content could change the way I view digital reading. I’m still a fan of the traditional magazine (I like to have things, collect, touch, etc.) but this could open doors for a lot of possibilities. Take a look at the link below and see how the illustration, photography, video and content all look together. It’s really an awesome thing.

http://sports.espn.go.com/espn/eticket/story?page=Dock-Ellis