Cincinnati CityBeat

Cincinnati CityBeat Cover

New illustration for the cover of Cincinnati CityBeat for their election issue.

Advertisements

After The Bear

After The Bear

I did this illustration about nine (give or take) years ago for an essay that Matt Stansberry wrote. Having always enjoyed Matt’s writing, this was the first piece he let me read that I NEEDED to make art for his writing. I still love the essay and am still proud of the art to accompany it. Glad to see it finally made it’s way onto the inter webs for everyone to read.

An article for hunters, fathers, sons, and exploring the depth of killing.
http://zoomorphic.net/2017/05/after-the-bear/

In The Watershed Book Cover

New book cover illustration and design I did for In The Watershed by Ryan Schnurr.
 
“Part cultural history, part nature writing, and part narrative, In the Watershed is a lyrical work of non-fiction in the vein of John McPhee and Ian Frazier with a timely and important warning at the core. “What is happening in Lake Erie,” Schnurr tells us, “is a disaster by nearly any measure—ecologically, economically, socially, culturally.””

In The Watershed Book Cover

Lovebirds Book 1 Preview and process

Here is the first chapter of LOVEBIRDS Book one “The Long Road” written and illustrated by David Wilson. Below the preview is a collection of process pictures with some notes. If you like what you see LOVEBIRDS is on sale at amazon here.

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad5

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad6

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad7

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad8

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad9

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad10

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad13

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad14

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad15

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad16

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad17

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad18

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad19

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad20

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad21

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad22

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad23

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad24

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad26

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad27

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad28

Lovebirds Book 1 Preview

LovebirdsVolume01TheLongRoad30

PROCESS

Character studies in sketchbook. None of these are meant to be perfect in any way. I like to do loose, quick sketches trying to capture the feel or look of a character. These drawings are more idea based than art based. Finding wardrobes, appearance quirks, etc.

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Below are a couple process pics of making a cover image, ink splatting and color studies over quick layouts.

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process

Lovebirds Book 1 Process